How We Function


  • Our Team

  • Our Story

  • What We Believe

  • Membership

  • How We Function

How is the church organized and how does it function?

The church incorporated in 1981 and is a 501c3 organization. The church is a member-led church. Our constitution and bylaws explain how our church votes and approves church business. Regarding policy, our constitution reads “the government of this church is vested in the body of believers who compose it.”

Church business meetings are held quarterly and can be special called. An elected moderator runs the meetings and uses Robert’s Rules of Order, Revised for parliamentary rules and procedures for all business meetings of the church.

All members of the church are "entitled to vote at all elections and on all questions submitted to the church at a regular or special business meeting." Article 1 of the bylaws lists church member requirements and rights of membership.*

FBC Lewisville is autonomous from any other church or organization. We choose to cooperate at the county, state, and national level with other Baptist churches. We align with the Denton Baptist AssociationBaptist General Convention of Texas at the state and national level, Southern Baptist Convention, and Baptist World Alliance. While we coordinate and resource the groups, they have no authority over us nor do we over them. Our cooperation allows more effective work locally and worldwide for the cause of Christ.

The officers of the church are the pastor, associate pastors, church administrator, deacon officers, moderator, recording secretary, and trustees. These groups have an organizational chart for how they relate to each other. There are additionally four administrative committees and a leadership council which work together to lead the church. The administrative committees are the finance committee, missions committee, nominating committee, and personnel committee. Each is a six-member committee that is selected by the nominating committee or leadership council and elected by the church. Their specific tasks and roles are listed in the constitution and bylaws.*

The leadership council is a group of men and women who, together with the pastor, are responsible for guarding the integrity of the mission, vision, and programs of the church. The membership is composed of ministerial staff, chair of deacons, chairs of administrative committees, chair of trustees, and nine at-large members. Their role can be viewed in the constitution and bylaws.*

The day-to-day work and programming decisions are done through cooperation of church staff, administrative committees, and leadership council. When necessary, their work and proposals are voted on by the church.

Annually, a church budget is prepared by the finance committee in consultation with the leadership council. They prepare and submit to the church for approval a comprehensive detailed budget, indicating by line items the amount needed and sought for all expenses.

Funds within the church are received and handled by the church administrator or financial services coordinator and are properly recorded on the books of the church. Guided by the church bylaws, "a system of accounting that will adequately provide for the handling of all funds shall be the responsibility of the finance committee."*

The deacons in our church are to function as “servants.” They are “partners with the pastor (and staff) in God’s work.” The deacon body is comprised of men who have been approved by the deacon officers and the church. They are empowered by the church and report to and are accountable to the church, subject to the provisions of their deacon bylaws and the constitution and bylaws of FBC. There is no special power or authority from the church ordination or election of a deacon. They are qualified through church membership, scriptural commands of Acts 6:3-5 and 1 Timothy 3:8-13 and sign a deacon covenant of expectations of them in their role.

For information regarding church membership, ordinances, and our beliefs, see the other pages in the “About” section of our website.

*Copies of our Constitution and Bylaws are available in the church office.